Chai Spiced Cookies

My son’s advisory had a culturally themed lunch yesterday. They were having Indian. To his credit, he did give me a day’s notice to go out and get something, but I didn’t have a chance to get to Trader Joe’s the day before. Tuesday night, we’re circling around the kitchen trying to decide what to do. I immediately said we should make a dessert and began surfing the web. I kept coming across recipes for Gulab Jamun, which looked delicious (I will try to make them soon), but after reading a few recipes for comparison and reviews, they seemed very time consuming and difficult. Not the kind of thing you want to start at 8pm on a school night. We opted for “Indian” inspired instead and went with chai spiced cookie recipe I found on epicurious and modified.

Chai-Spiced-Cookies-1

My son decided to make these himself (he’s 11). I gathered the ingredients, playing the helpful sous and followed his directions. The cookies came together simply and quickly, and baked in no time. He left the task of rolling the cookies in powdered sugar to me because he didn’t’ feel like getting messy and wanted to get back to his PS4.

Chai-Spiced-Cookies-3

We made two extra for sampling. They were quite good. Not too sweet and very flavorful. I told him that I was going to take pictures of the cookies, post them on my blog and take full credit ☺.

Chai-Spiced-Cookies-5

Chai Spiced Cookies

  • Servings: 20-22 cookies
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/3 cups powdered sugar, divided
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • ½ teaspoon ground allspice
  • ½ teaspoon ground cardamom
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour

Method:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Using electric mixer, beat butter, 1/3 cup sugar, both extracts, spices, and salt in medium bowl. Beat in flour.

Using a small scoop or your hands, roll dough into tablespoon-size balls. Place on large baking sheet, spacing about 1 inch. Bake until pale golden, about 25 minutes. Cool on sheet 5 minutes. Place remaining sugar in large bowl. Working in batches, gently coat hot cookies in sugar. Cool cookies on rack. Roll again in sugar and serve.

3 comments

  1. themindlessmusings

    I’ve always loved chai but for some reason never tried chai flavored things. I really want to try these cookies now so thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

