Caramel Chocolate Chip Bars

Last weekend, I was really in the mood for something comforting. I was craving chocolate chip cookies, but I wanted them to be thick and chewy all the way through. I haven’t made Toll House (like)  bars in a very long time, so I thought I’d make that and put some left over caramel (from another baking adventure) in between.

Caramel-Chocolate-Chip-Bars-3

Instead of using a new cookie recipe, I went with my old stand by. Other than the caramel clinging to mostly the bottom of my bar (sometimes all the way to the bottom even thought I had a solid first layer), they were delicious. It almost reminded me of eating chocolate chip cookies with toffee. The caramel didn’t harden, but instead made a nice gooey soft center that came through in ever bite.

Caramel-Chocolate-Chip-Bars-2

I also use coverture chocolate in place of chocolate chips, so when they were warm, (and even at room temperature), the chocolate remained soft. I’m sooooo glad I decided to do this!

Caramel-Chocolate-Chip-Bars-1

Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

  • Servings: About 12-15
  • Print


Ingredients:

  • Your favorite chocolate chip recipe (enough for 2 dozen cookies)
  • ½ cup caramel
  • 9×9 inch cake pan
  • Parchment paper

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350°. Line pan with parchment paper. Prepare your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. Spread half of the batter in the pan. Spread evenly with a spatula. Pour caramel on top of the batter being careful to stay away from the edges. Spread even with spatula if necessary.

Now for the messy part. Spray your hands with pan coating and gather medium pieces of cookie dough and spread into a rectangle. Lay the rectangle on top of the caramel. Repeat with the rest of the dough until the entire top is covered. Pinch dough together to close seams and spread to make even.

Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and when a wooden toothpick is inserted comes out clean.

Let cool to room temperature. Remove from pan and cut into squares.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

