Oatmeal Pancakes

Last weekend I made an announcement to my son that we were having oatmeal pancakes for breakfast. My son let out a long sigh, dropped his head and slowly walked back to his room as if he were headed for the guillotine. I promised him that he would like them.

Oatmeal Pancakes 3

When I lived in NYC, my favorite place to brunch was Grange Hall (no longer exists). I was in an old speakeasy in Greenwich Village. One of my favorite meals there (other than Amish potatoes) was their blueberry oatmeal pancake. My goal was to recreate those pancakes. Unfortunately, my son won’t go anywhere near blueberries, so I made these without them.

Oatmeal-Pancakes-1

These pancakes were pretty darn good. They were hearty, yet light, nutty, not too sweet and absorbed syrup like a sponge. My son even liked them. The only thing that would make these better would be blueberries.

Oatmeal-Pancakes-Cover

Oatmeal Pancakes

  • Servings: About 8 to 10
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • ¼ cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of ground cloves
  • 2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 2 cups milk (I used 2%, but you can use whatever you like)
  • 2 large eggs
  • ¼ cup butter (1/2 stick), melted, plus more for skillet
  • Equipment: food processor or blender

Method:

In a food processor or blender, add oats and pulse until coarsely ground. In a medium add oats and combine with flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and clove. In a large bowl, whisk together milk, eggs, and butter. Add dry ingredients and whisk just until blended.

Preheat oven to 200°. Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium. Add a small amount of butter. Drop batter in skillet and cook until a few bubbles have burst, 1 to 2 minutes. Flip pancakes and cook until browned underneath, about 1 to 2 minutes more. Repeat with more butter and batter. You can keep cooked pancakes in oven until the rest are done. Adapted from Martha Stewart.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

