Ginger Cake with Lemon Glaze

Ginger-Cake-Slice

I recently purchased The Beekman 1802 Heirloom Dessert Cookbook. I really bought it for the cake on the cover, but my eyes rested on the Double Ginger Cake recipe. I haven’t had ginger bread in a long time, and I’ve never made a ginger cake in a bundt pan, so I decided to try it.

It’s a simple recipe to put together, but as you can see, I had a bit of trouble getting it out of the pan.

Ginger-Cake-Pang

I never, ever flour and grease a pan (I just don’t like it), so I usually spray the heck out of it with pan coating. Clearly, I didn’t use enough. I even let the can cool until almost room temperature.

Ginger-Cake

I should’ve known when I poured the batter into the pan. It was on the thin side, and smelled of molasses (in a good way). I was also a bit nervous when I took the pan out of the oven and saw that the cake dipped in the middle.

Ginger-Cake-in-Pan
I was convinced that it was going to be gummy. Thank fully, it wasn’t! Despite the top separating from the cake, it was delicious. I loved the little bursts of crystalized ginger sprinkled throughout. Next time I think I’d try this recipe with dark brown sugar instead of granulated.

GingerCake-1

Ginger Cake with Lemon Glaze


Cake:

  • 2 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ¾ teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger (my favorite is from the Spice House)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (my favorite is from the Spice House)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup molasses (not blackstrap)
  • 2 eggs
  • 12 tablespoons (1 ½ sticks) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup hot water
  • 4 tablespoons crystalized ginger, chopped finely

Lemon Glaze:

  • ½ cup confectioner’s sugar (to start)
  • ¼ cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest

Method

Make the cake:

Preheat the oven to 350°. Spray a 10-12 cup bundt pan generously with pan coating.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, ground ginger, cinnamon and salt. In another bowl whisk together sugar, molasses, eggs, melted butter and hot water. Stir in flour mixture and chopped crystalized ginger and combine until smooth. Pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for about 45 – 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan and then invert onto a cake plate.

Make the glaze:

Combine confectioners’ sugar, lemon juice and zest in a bowl and stir until smooth. Continue to add more sugar until desired consistency is reached. Drizzle over cake.

Adapted from the recipe Double Ginger Cake found in The Beekman 1803 Heirloom Dessert Cookbook.

Leave a Reply

