Cinnamon Rolls

CRolls-Cover

I love having warm cinnamon rolls for breakfast. Emphasis on breakfast. The biggest downer to making cinnamon rolls for breakfast is having to get up at 6/7am to let the dough rise twice, so you can have warm rolls, by 9:30-10am. I’ve always been nervous about putting dough in the fridge the night before, but I decided to put my fears aside and give it a go. I used the sweet dough recipe (from the Monkey Bread) that my mom and I adapted from a class recipe and put them together.

The dough came together pretty well (I only had to add a little additional flour). I decided to save all of my mistakes for rolling out the dough. I couldn’t find my ruler or measuring tape, so I had to eyeball a 15×9 inch rectangle. I thought I did pretty well, until I cut the dough and realized that I was only able to get 13 rolls instead of 15. Whoops! Oh well, I placed them in the pan, covered them with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge to sit overnight. The next morning, I put the pan in the oven to rise over a pan of hot water. It was a neat trick I learned from a friend, and with this method, it only took about and hour to rise. By 9:30am, the bacon and coffee was ready, and my son had the honors of spreading the icing on the warm rolls. We were in heaven!

CRolls-2

Cinnamon Rolls

  • Servings: 12 to 15 rolls
  • Print

Ingredients

Rolls:

  • 3T plus ¾t instant yeast
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 ¼c (9oz) water, warm (107°F-110°F)
  • ½c plus 1T sugar
  • ¼c plus 1T powdered milk
  • 2t salt
  • 1 1/3c pastry flour (I’ve attached a link for a substitute in case you can’t find pastry flour in the market)
  • 4c bread flour
  • 1t vanilla
  • ½c plus 2T shortening

Cinnamon Sugar Mixture:

  • 1 stick (8oz) of unsalted butter
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1T cinnamon (I love siagon cinnamon)

Cream Cheese Glaze:

  • 4 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 c powdered sugar
  • 1/4c (1/2 stick) butter, room temperature
  • ½ t vanilla

Method

Generously butter a 9 x 13 inch pan.

Pour yeast, water, eggs, sugar, dry milk, salt, pastry flour, bread flour, vanilla and shortening into a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a dough hook. Mix on low speed until ingredients have incorporated, about 1 minute. Increase speed to medium, and mix for approximately 8 minutes. If the dough seems too tacky, you can add flour 1/8 cup at a time. Place dough in a lightly oiled bowl, cover and let rest in a warm area for one hour, or until double in size.

Melt butter and let cool. Combine brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Set aside.

While the dough is rising, prepare the glaze. Combine cream cheese, and butter. Gradually add powdered sugar and mix until smooth. Add vanilla. If the glaze is too thick, you gradually add milk until desired consistency is reached.

When dough has doubled in size, punch down. Roll out on a floured surface into a 15 by 9-inch rectangle. Spread melted butter all over dough. Sprinkle sugar mixture over buttered dough leaving a ½ inch border on all sides. Beginning at the 15-inch side, role up dough and pinch edge together to seal. Cut into 12 to 15 slices. Cover and place the pan in a warm area and let rise until double, or when the dough has almost reached the top of the pan.

Bake the bread in a 350°F oven for approximately 30 min, or until the rolls are golden brown. Let rest in the pan for at least 10 minutes, than invert onto a cooling rack. Spread glaze on rolls. Serve warm, or at room temperature.

CRolls-3

4 comments

  1. No problem:) Someone else may have the same question. Food subs dot com is one of my favorite sites. I discovered it a few years ago, and have found it very helpful. I haven’t seen bakerella but I’ll have to check it out!

  2. Oh you didn’t have to change it, I was just clarifying . And thanks for including the pastry flour substitute, I’m sure I won’t get it in Singapore. :p I’ve been using another cinnamon roll recipe (from bakerella if you know her blog) but will bookmark this for the next time I make them.

Leave a Reply

