Tartfilette

Tartiflette

I spotted this gem of a recipe while killing time on Facebook. I was scrolling through my newsfeed (mostly Buzzfeed quizzes and posts about bands), when Saveur decided that I should stop, stare and salivate at the post of a recipe for a cheese, potato and bacon casserole. I had to make this. Luckily a three-day weekend was coming up along with another Polar Vortex, so I knew this would be the perfect time to have something rich, warm and comforting to munch on while sitting in front of the fire. Since my son doesn’t like potatoes (other than chips or fries) I made half-ish recipe, big enough to serve two hungry people.

Unfortunately I was unable to get my hands on reblochon or thick cut bacon (to be honest, I stopped my search after not finding either at Whole Foods), so I used raclette (thanks foodsubs.com!) and a nice applewood smoked bacon. I was also feeling rather cocky, while cooking the bacon and caramelizing the onions.

Tartiflette-1

That came to a grinding halt when I added the potatoes. There wasn’t very much liquid in the pan, and although the potatoes were cut thin, they weren’t thin enough to cook without burning them, or having them break up in the process. I was really hoping that they would soften while baking in the oven. After the first bite, the potatoes could’ve been hard as bricks and I still would’ve eaten it. It was so yummy and delicious!!!

I originally sent a text to my neighbor asking if she wanted to share it with me, since I didn’t want to be stuck with leftovers. I was supposed to text her when it was out of the oven. After finishing just over half the pan, I remembered that I was supposed to text her. I was hoping that she would forget, and kept eating. I finished the pan, whipped up a batch of brownies for my neighbor as an apology/consolation and then dug my sneakers out of the closet. I had a lot of exercising to do.

Tartifette2

Tartiflette

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp. unsalted butter
  • 8 oz. slab bacon, cut into 1″ strips about ½” thick
  • 1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • ½ cup dry white wine
  • 2½ lb. waxy potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1 lb. reblochon cheese, sliced ¼” thick

Method:

Heat oven to 375°. Grease an oval 2½-qt. casserole dish with 2 tbsp. butter. Heat remaining butter and the bacon in a 12″ skillet over medium heat. Cook until bacon is slightly crisp, 10–12 minutes. Using a slotted spoon, transfer bacon to paper towels to drain. Add onion to skillet; cook until slightly caramelized, 7–9 minutes. Add wine; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; cook until reduced by half, 2–3 minutes. Stir in potatoes, salt, and pepper; cook until just tender, 8–10 minutes. Spread half the potato mixture evenly in prepared dish; top with half each the reserved bacon and the cheese. Repeat with remaining potato mixture, bacon, and cheese; bake until top is browned and filling is bubbling, about 25 minutes.  

Leave a Reply

