Waffle Maker Fun (not so much)

CinnW2Title

Over the past few days (maybe weeks), I started noticing various things being made with a waffle maker. Everything, from sandwiches, to brownies, to cookies, you name it. I thought I’d have some fun with it myself and decided to try cinnamon rolls and chocolate chip cookies. I have to tell you right now, that I had no intention of using my own recipes. If it didn’t work, I’d be really pissed over wasting my homemade dough, so I went to the market and bought refrigerated cinnamon roll and cookie dough.

First, the cinnamon rolls.

CinW1

They were just fine, it only took about 2 to 3 minutes to cook on medium setting and they turned out nice and golden brown.

CW-1

I drizzled icing from the container and my son and his friend gobbled them up.

CinnW3

It was a fun and cute alternative to making cinnamon rolls. Satisfied with my experiment, I moved on to the cookie dough.

The experience was not the same.

ChocCW-1

On my first try, the cookie came apart when I opened the waffle maker. “Ok, no biggie, I’ll just spray more pan coating on the grill and try again” I said to myself.

ChoCW-2

Take two: Same result. I’m now starting to think about a couple of things. 1) Maybe I should be using homemade dough instead of store bought (assuming there’s more oil or something processed in the store version), or 2) I should start off with frozen dough. I put the tube in the freezer for about 20 minutes and tried again.

ChCW-3

After 3 or 4 minutes, I opened the waffle maker and again, the cookie separated and the dough was still a little raw in the center. Ok, let’s try this one more time. I had the same result even after cooking for 6 minutes (the separating, not the rawness). I was over it! It was frustrating enough having to clean the waffle maker after every fail, and by the time I tried making the 4th cookie (and having two glass of wine), I was ready to throw my waffle maker in the trash!

Now, in order to redeem myself, I’m actually going to make my own cookie dough and try again.

CinnW2

2 comments

  1. The cinnamon rolls look nice. I wish we had refrigeratored cinnamon roll dough sold in stores over here. I would definitely have bought a waffle iron to try that out if they did.

Leave a Reply

