Cherpumple

Cher-Title

A friend of mine posted this link on my Facebook page. It was for something called a Cherpumple. I’d never heard of it before. It was a three layer cake consisting of a cherry pie baked into a chocolate cake, beneath a pumpkin pie baked in a spice cake, beneath an apple pie baked in a yellow cake, and then frosted. It was like the Turducken of desserts. It looked and sounded so gross to me that I had to make it for myself, just to see it in person.

There was no way that I was going to make all of this from scratch, so I went to the market to buy pies from the bakery area, box cake mixes and a couple of cans of frosting. I baked all three cakes at once following the directions on the back of the boxes. I used the entire box for each layer, so I put lots of foil in the bottom of the oven just in case the batter spilled over. The cakes baked for over an hour! I was really nervous. I started checking around the 35-40 minute mark, and the middle was still very shaky. I started rotating the pans and checked about every 5 to 6 minutes to see if they were done. After about one hour and fifteen minutes, the toothpick came out clean and I took them out of the oven. I was pretty sure by this time the edges of the cakes were going to be dry. They were, but surprisingly not super dry. As I began leveling off the layers, I saw that the middle was still a little gummy. Luckily it was just the very top in the middle that was being cut off, so it didn’t matter.

It took two cans of frosting just to cover the layers! It barely went around the sides of the cake. I quickly whipped up a batch of frosting, making it very stiff and put on a crumb coat. By the time I finished frosting the cake, I used entire 3 lb bag of confectioners sugar and about 12oz of butter.

Cher 2

Decorating was the fun part. I had seen this style on Pinterest and wanted to try it, so this was a good way for me to practice.

Taking it to my friends’ house was like a scene from Cake Wars. It weighed a ton and I was pretty sure I was going to drop it during the 1 mile drive. My friends and I gathered around the cake eagerly staring at the cake as I cut it. We were all dying to see how it would turn out. It looked way better than I thought it would.

Cher-3

It looked good, but how would it taste? I grabbed a fork, cut into the apple layer and took a bite. It wasn’t bad, but at the same time decided I really didn’t the texture and taste. This must have shown on my face because on of my friends thought I was going to lose it, and handed me a napkin!

Cher-5

I bravely tried the second layer. This layer was the winner. The texture of the pumpkin pie was a better match for the spice cake. And the tastes blended well too. A couple of people liked the cherry/chocolate layer, but I really don’t like cherry pie, so I wouldn’t go near it. After everyone took a bite we put our forks down triumphantly, patted each other on the back and I tossed the cake in the trash.

Cher-4

Cherpumple

  • Servings: a small village
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 8-inch frozen pumpkin pie
  • 1 box spice cake mix
  • 1 8-inch frozen apple pie
  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 8-inch frozen cherry pie
  • 1 box white cake mix
  • eggs and oil according to the cake mix
  • 3 tall tubs of cream cheese frosting
  • 3 8½-inch-round cake pans

Method

Bake pies according to instructions and cool to room temperature overnight.

Mix cake batter according to instructions. For each layer, pour about 1 1⁄3 cup of batter in the cake pan.

Carefully de-tin the baked pie and place it face up on top of the batter in the cake pan. Push down lightly to release any trapped air.

Pour enough batter on top to cover the pie. Bake according to box instructions.

Cool and remove from pans then frost it like you mean it.

(recipe via Charles Phoenix)  

2 comments

Leave a Reply

