Buttermilk Biscuits

Butbis-title

My son requested biscuits for breakfast over the weekend. I have a “go-to” recipe, but sometimes, I like to mix it up and try something new. This recipe had rave reviews, so I decided to give it a go.

I noticed that this was a “drop biscuit” recipe and I’ve never tried one before. I usually roll out the dough. When I mixed all of the ingredients together, the dough seemed a bit dry (read perfect for rolling), and not really moist enough to “drop” without the dough falling apart. I didn’t want to handle it too much and make it tough so I added about another ¼ cup of buttermilk, then quickly and lightly blended it together. Instead of using a ¼ measuring cup, I used a ¼ cup ice cream scoop for dropping the dough onto the baking sheet.

butbis-1

The biscuits tasted great! They were light and fluffy on the inside, but the outside was a bit dry and crumbly/crunchy. Almost like a pie crust. I think if I added even more buttermilk to make the dough a little tacky to the touch, they would be perfect.

Buttermilk Biscuits

  • Servings: 12 biscuits
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Method:

Preheat oven to 425°F. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda in large bowl to blend. Using fingertips, rub 3/4 cup chilled butter into dry ingredients until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add buttermilk and stir until evenly moistened. Using 1/4 cup dough for each biscuit, drop biscuits onto baking sheet, spacing 2 inches apart. Bake until biscuits are golden brown on top, about 15 minutes. Cool slightly. Serve warm.  

Leave a Reply

