Cinnamon Coffee Cake

CCC-Title

I was excited about this coffee cake. I’ve never made one before (I’m constantly amazing myself with the types of things I’ve never made and I call myself a baker). I didn’t have any milk in the house, but I did have buttermilk, so I used that instead.

The recipe was a cinch to put together, but there were a couple of concerns. The crumb topping seemed very pale and dry in the bowl and I had the urge to add more butter, but I resisted. I assumed/was hoping that this would be fixed once it went into the oven. Ok, maybe not.

CCC-2

The top was very dry and kind of went all over the place when I took the cake out of the pan. I thought/was hoping it would be more like the crumb topping on a fruit crisp, or at least like a Drake’s coffee cake (yummy). The cake itself was somehow moist and dry at the same time, but had a really nice flavor. I would have liked more cinnamon and pecans in the middle as well.  I’m going to assume that adding the cinnamon extract would probably help with that (I didn’t have any). Even thought it seems like I’ve picked this recipe apart, I liked it overall. I’d make it again with a few adjustments.

Cinnamon Coffee Cake

Ingredients

  • 16 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted, plus more for the pan
  • 3¾ cups flour, plus more for pan
  • 1¼ cups plus 2 tsp. sugar
  • 6 tbsp. plus 1½ tsp. packed light brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp. plus ½ tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1¼ tsp. kosher salt
  • ⅓ cup finely chopped pecans
  • 2½ tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6 tbsp. sour cream
  • 2¼ tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1½ tsp. cinnamon extract
  • 2 eggs

Method:

Heat oven to 325°. Grease an 8″ x 8″ baking pan with a little butter and sprinkle with a little flour; set aside. Make topping: In a bowl, mix 8 tbsp. melted butter, ¼ cup sugar, 6 tbsp. brown sugar, 2 tbsp. ground cinnamon, and ½ tsp. salt until smooth. Add 1½ cups flour; mix with a fork until crumbly; chill.

Make filling:

In a bowl, mix remaining brown sugar, 2 tsp. sugar, ½ tsp. ground cinnamon, and pecans; set filling aside.

Make cake batter:

In another bowl, whisk together remaining flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder; set aside. In a large measuring cup, whisk together remaining butter, milk, sour cream, vanilla, cinnamon extract, and eggs until smooth. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients; whisk to combine. Pour half the batter into prepared baking pan. Sprinkle filling over top; pour remaining batter over it. Break up reserved topping with fingers; sprinkle over top; bake until a toothpick inserted into middle of cake comes out clean, about 1 hour 15 minutes. Let cool before serving.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

