Shrimp Boil

SB-Title

Before I begin, I must apologize for the photos. They’re not the best. I really didn’t plan on taking pictures or posting this recipe, but I was excited by the results and really wanted to share. I’m attempting to post this recipe as I found it and let you know the changes I made.

I know one of the rules of cooking or baking, is that you should always take notes just in case you make changes. I almost never do that, and as a result, I almost never make an identical tasting dish twice. I’m pretty sure it’s something I genetically inherited from my mother who rarely uses recipes.

A really good friend of mine made this dish this summer and it was fantastic. As I watched her put it together, it seemed simple enough for even me, so I gave her a call and asked for the recipe. She didn’t have one (haha!), but she gave me an outline. The key for her was bacon and white wine. We’re both big believers in “bacon makes everything better”. I still needed structure, so I found this recipe on the Old Bay site and used it as a foundation. I used Old Bay myself, but you can use any spice blend. My girlfriend has a favorite seafood blend that she buys from Savannah.

Other than cleaning the shrimp, this recipe was pretty easy to put together. I know a lot of people serve it over paper, but I like to have it in both with broth like a soup, or gumbo (probably because of the wine).

SB-Cover

Shrimp Boil

Ingredients:

  • 4 quarts water (I used dry white wine)
  • 1 can (12 ounces) beer (optional)
  • 1/2 cup Old Bay seasoning (or your favorite seafood seasoning blend)
  • 2 tablespoons salt
  • 8 medium red potatoes, quartered
  • 2 large onions, cut into wedges
  • 2 pounds lean smoked sausage, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 8 ears fresh corn, shucked and halved crosswise
  • 4 pounds unpeeled jumbo shrimp (21 to 25 count) – I peeled and de-veined mine
  • 6 strips of bacon (optional)

Note: I would cook the bacon 1st in the pot and pour off the grease without scraping off the bits of bacon at the bottom of the pot.

Method:

Bring water, beer, seasoning and salt to boil in 12-quart stockpot on high heat. Add potatoes and onions. Cook 8 minutes. Add smoked sausage. Cook 5 minutes. Add corn. Cook 7 minutes.

Stir in shrimp. Cook 4 minutes or just until shrimp turn pink.

Drain cooking liquid. Pour contents of pot into large serving bowl or platter. Or, mound on paper-covered table. Sprinkle with additional seasoning, if desired.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

