Yeast Waffles

YW-Title

The weekend was approaching, and I was already thinking about what to make my son for breakfast. I usually whip up a large batch of waffles and make enough to him to have homemade “eggos” during the week before he goes to school. I’ve made authentic Liege Belgian waffles, but I wanted to try a yeast waffle recipe that would be good for every day.

The only substitution I made in this recipe, was substituting sugar for maple syrup. Quite a bit of sugar. I decided to taste the batter before putting it in the fridge and I was glad I did. It tasted like yeast. Only yeast, so I added more sugar. Feeling better, I covered the bowl and put it in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I couldn’t wait to taste the first one. It was good. Yeasty, but a little sweet at the same time. Syrup would make it perfect. The taste and texture actually reminded me of the Liege waffle. When I was down to my last 3 or 4 waffles, I poked around the cupboard to see if I still had any pearl sugar left. I did! I added it to the remaining batter and cooked them. Yum, yum, yum. They tasted just like the Liege waffle I made months ago and it took a lot less time and effort. The texture wasn’t the same, but I could live with that.

YW-with-sugar

As breakfast waffles go, my son and I thought these were very good, but not something you could eat often. After turning them into Liege waffles, we might have a batch just sitting around the house for snacking or dessert!

YW-1

Yeast Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups lukewarm milk
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 to 3 tablespoons maple syrup, optional
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast (I love saf-instant)
  • Belgian-style (deep-pocket) waffle iron
  • pearl sugar, optional

Method:

Combine all of the ingredients in a large bowl, leaving room for expansion; the mixture will bubble and grow.

Stir to combine; it’s OK if the mixture isn’t perfectly smooth.

Cover with plastic wrap, and let rest at room temperature for 1 hour; the mixture will begin to bubble. You can cook the waffles at this point, or refrigerate the batter overnight to cook waffles the next day.

Preheat your waffle iron. Spray with non-stick vegetable oil spray, and pour 2/3 to 3/4 cup batter (or the amount recommended by the manufacturer) onto the center of the iron. Close the lid and bake for the recommended amount of time, until the waffle is golden brown.

Serve immediately, or keep warm in a 200°F oven. Serve with berries and whipped cream, if desired.  

2 comments

  1. cheryllovesfood

    Yay! I posted yesterday that I tried Liege waffles for the first time and they beautiful, but tasted like cardboard. I have pearl sugar and will try your recipe today. Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

