Everything Cookies

EC-Title

Chocolate chips. Peanut butter. Oats. Raisins. Pretzels. Walnuts. I like all of these things. Would I like all of these things all together in one cookie? Maybe? Ok, not really.  For some reason, I had high hopes for this cookie. There were so many great elements. I thought it might turn out something like a 7 layer bar.

The base of the cookie was really a chocolate chip dough. Equal parts white and brown sugar, a couple of eggs and a cup of butter. We’re off to a great start. But when I started adding each additional ingredient, I became a bit more skeptical, but still optimistic at the same time. My first mistake was adding the full amount of nutmeg. I love nutmeg, but for me personally, if I add more than a pinch, what ever I’m making just tastes like nutmeg. But this time I decided to follow the entire recipe to the letter. Ok, not to the letter. I didn’t let the cookies sit in the fridge for 2 hours an indicated. Chilling the dough for a couple of hours is supposed to one, infuse flavor, and two, make sure that the cookies don’t spread too much while baking since you cream the butter for so long. Also, I never follow the “spoonful” directions. I have at least 3 or 4 scoops of various sizes that I like to use depending on mood.

EC-1

The cookies went in and out of the oven without incident. Time for the taste test. It was……different (please note that I’m a super picky eater, and I understand the irony of this as a baker and a foodie). To me, the cookie seemed like it was trying to be too much for every palate. I didn’t care for the spice with the peanut butter, and I didn’t like the peanut butter with the raisins, and then the oats got weird with the walnuts, chocolate however, is always everyone’s friend. This recipe reminds me of the kid that tries to hard to impress everyone.

EC3

Everything Cookies

  • Servings: 24 to 30 cookies
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup natural chunky or creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup (packed) light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips (12 ounces)
  • 3/4 cup raisins (I use golden raisins)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup pretzels, broken into 1’–2′ pieces
  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray

Method

Whisk oats, flour, baking soda, spices, and salt in a large bowl. Using an electric mixer, beat butter, peanut butter, and sugars in another large bowl on medium speed until combined. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until completely smooth. With mixer on low speed, gradually add dry ingredients and mix just to combine. Stir in chocolate chips, raisins, walnuts, and pretzels. Wrap dough in plastic and chill for at least 2 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350°. Coat baking sheets with nonstick spray or silpat. Using a spoon, drop rounded tablespoonfuls of dough about 2″ apart onto prepared baking sheets (12–14 cookies should fit on each sheet). Bake cookies until golden brown, 15–17 minutes; transfer to wire racks and let cool.

Leave a Reply

