S’more Rice Krispies Treat

SRKT-Title

This recipe comes on the heels of my rice krispie treat phase. For a while I was obsessed with putting a “twist” on something that was already pretty darned perfect. The sad thing is, I never think of these “twists” on my own, I always see it somewhere, think it’s pretty interesting and then decide to try it for myself. I guess I’m a basic kinda girl.

When I came across a s’more version of this recipe, I didn’t’ even bother looking at the directions, because it’s a no brainer right? Right?

I toasted the marshmallows in the broiler with no problem. When they were all nice and toasty, I add them to the bowl of rice krispies and crushed graham crackers. I needed herculean strength to get the marshmallows to mix with the cereal. The marshmallows were super sticky and clumpy, and it was almost impossible to get it to blend. Frustrated, I gave up and spread half of it in a pan, dotted it with mini Hershey bars, then added the second layer (this part was my invention). When I finished, I decided to actually look at the recipe, and it turns out that I was supposed to put the marshmallows in a pan with butter before mixing it with the cereal. Oops.

SRKT-Cover

They were pretty good, and were very reminiscent of s’mores. The only real change I would make is to the chocolate. I used Hershey’s for nostalgia/authentic camping reasons, but I’ve gotten snobby with chocolate as I’ve gotten older and I would use my favorite chocolate next time. Or even my favorite chocolate chip. As long as you spread the first layer in quickly, it will still be warm enough to melt the chips. Below is the recipe that provided the inspiration.

SRKT-1

S’more Rice Krispies Treat

  • Servings: 15 to 20 squares
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 5 1/2 cups crisp rice cereal
  • 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs + more for topping
  • 2 XL Hershey’s (or other) dark chocolate bars
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 1 10 ounce bag mini marshmallows

Method

Butter a 9×13 dish and set aside.

Preheat oven to hi-broil and position oven rack on the very top.

Pour marshmallows onto one or two lightly greased baking sheets, depending on their size, being careful not to lose any mallows if they’re not rimmed. Place under broiler and watch closely as they’ll toast up quickly. Remove when they’re dark brown. Set aside.

In a large pot over medium-low heat, quickly melt the butter and then add the marshmallows, scraping them off the pan with a rubber spatula – a little bit will stick but that’s OK. Just get as much as you can.

Stir and cook for a minute or two until melted and well combined. Then add the rice cereal and graham crackers and stir until well combined. Transfer immediately to the baking dish.

After 5 or so minutes of cooling, add the chocolate bars and press so they stick to the tops of the rice krispies. I waited a little too long and they didn’t quite stick, so use your best judgment – you want them still a tad warm but not hot.

Cut into about 15 squares and serve immediately! Will keep covered for a few days.

Leave a Reply

