Malted Milk Cookie Tart

malt-tart-title

I was playing around online last weekend and saw an article on kid-friendly dessert recipes. Meaning, recipes that were simple/safe enough that a kid could help. As luck would have it, I have a kid and decided that this would be our Saturday activity. I had everything but malted milk powder, so we went to the store. Two hours and 3 stores later, we came home empty handed. I fail to understand how a grocery store doesn’t have malted milk powder. It’s not like it’s a rare item. Anyway, I had some chocolate malt Ovaltine in the cupboard, so I decided to substitute with that. I’m instantly disappointed because now my tart won’t be a pretty blond color, but chocolate instead. Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate, but I’m still recovering from the cookies and cream bars and was looking forward to the chocolate/vanilla/malt balance.

As soon as my son measured the Ovaltine, I became worried. There was a lot of sugar in this mix, and I was concerned that it might not dissolve. I was also a little worried about the 2 sticks of butter. That’s a lot of butter for 1 ½ cups of flour. I imagined it turning out like shortbread. My son had a great time “pulsing” the food processor and together we pressed the dough into the tart pan. While we were doing so, I noticed that both of our fingers were becoming a little oily and the dough was glistening.

The tart came out of the oven a shiny, oily mess. Either more flour should have been added, or there was too much butter, or, the sugar from the Ovaltine didn’t dissolve. I think it was a combination of the three. My son thought it was super tasty though after I dabbed the bottom with paper towel. I would like to try this again, once I’m able to find malted milk powder. It’s a lot more fine than Ovaltine, and I’m sure will provide a better texture.

Malt-Tart-1

Malted Milk Cookie Tart

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup malted milk powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon (scant) coarse kosher salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (about 3 ounces; do not exceed 61% cacao)
  • 1/2 cup malted milk balls, coarsely chopped

Method

Preheat oven to 325°F. In processor, pulse flour, malted milk powder, sugar, and coarse salt. Add butter; pulse until moist clumps form. Transfer dough to work surface; gather into ball. Press evenly onto bottom of 9-inch-diameter tart pan with removable bottom.

Bake crust until evenly golden brown, about 45 minutes. Scatter chocolate chips over; let stand 5 minutes to soften, then spread melted chocolate over hot crust in well that forms as center sinks. Sprinkle malted milk balls over. Cool completely. Remove tart from pan; cut into wedges.  

3 comments

  1. cheryllovesfood

    Awesome! What a fun thing to make. Very different and I love anything with malt flavor. I happen to have that very malted milk powder so all I need are a bag of Whoppers. Great recipe, thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

