Caramel Preztel Brownies

pretzel-borwnie-title

The other day, a co-worker and I were chatting about baking. We talked about over the top recipes like Oreo’s baked in chocolate chip cookies and brownies with peanut butter cups etc, and she told me about a brownie recipe she saw with pretzels and caramel. I thought it sounded interesting and asked her to share with me. The recipe called for a boxed brownie mix, pretzels, a jar of caramel and sea salt.

pretzel-brownie-1

Well, me being me, I used my own brownie recipe and made my own caramel. I didn’t really have any expectations for this recipe (since I was using my own), and assumed that it would be a no brainer. I was however super surprised (and disappointed) when I took a bite into the brownie, it tasted and chewed like wet cardboard. I had to take them to my neighbor to confirm. She gave me a polite smile as she sampled, but after a few chews, asked if she could spit it out. We spent the next twenty minutes trying to account for the poor texture. The only explanation was that the pretzels absorbed too much of the moisture from the batter, making the pretzels chewy. Annoyed, I let the brownies sit on the counter for a couple of days, glaring at them every time I entered the kitchen. (side note: my son is away for the summer, so I tend to get a little lazy in the kitchen). I looked at the picture of the original recipe and the pretzels looked crunchy, so I was very confused.

pretzel-brownie-2

On day three, I finally get ready to throw out the brownies (they were covered the entire time), but decided to taste them once more. Holy. Crap. They were tasty. The brownies tasted like brownies and the pretzels were crunchy! It tasted like a chocolate covered pretzel (kind of). So I guess the trick to the recipe is to let the brownies cool completely (like cooler than room temp), or even serve them the day after baking them. I’m not sure if I’ll try this recipe again, but if I do, I will use pretzel thin sticks instead of mini pretzels.

Caramel Pretzel Brownies

  • Servings: 15-20 brownies
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Your favorite brownie recipe
  • 3 cups of pretzels
  • 8 oz of your favorite caramel
  • Coarse sea salt (I only had Falksalt)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 ° F. Line a 9×13-inch baking pan with parchment paper, or grease with cooking spray.

Prepare brownie batter according to package instructions.

Pour about 1/3 of the brownie batter into the prepared baking pan. Spread until the bottom of the pan is evenly coated. Then add two even layers of pretzels, covering the entire surface. Carefully spoon the remaining brownie batter on top to cover the pretzels.

Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the brownies comes out clean. Remove and set on a cooling rack to cool.

Spoon the caramel sauce onto the top of the brownies in an even layer. (If it is too thick, spoon the sauce into a small bowl first and microwave for 30 seconds to thin.) Sprinkle the caramel with a few pinches of sea salt.

Serve warm, or let cool to room temperature then serve.

Leave a Reply

