Maple-Pecan Rice Krispies Treat

RC-Treats-Title

A friend of mine posted this recipe on my Facebook page and asked if I would make it his birthday which is still months away. Rice Krispies treats are a no-brainer, so I decided to whip up a batch a little sooner. Who knew it was possible to make a mistake with such a simple recipe?!?

Instead of really focusing, I decided to do a load of laundry, load/unload the dishwasher and talk to a friend on the phone while making the treats. Since it was so hot and I didn’t want to turn on the full oven to toast the pecans, I decided to use the broiler (note to self: start doing this all the time). The mistake was made when reaching for the bag of nuts. I grabbed walnuts instead of pecans. This mistake wasn’t noticed until I starting mixing the nuts in and tasted the treats. They were good, really good, but I could see how the pecans were the right choice for this recipe. I imagined it tasting like butter pecan ice cream, or a praline. These. Will. Be. Made. Again.

RC-Treats-in-pan

Maple-Pecan Rice Krispies Treat

  • Servings: 15 to 20 squares
  • Print

Note: The only change I made in this recipe (other than the mistake), was I used only 9 cups of cereal instead of 11 ½. I like my treats more on the chewy side.

Ingredients

  • ½ cup unsalted butter
  • 1 16 ounce bag of miniature marshmallows
  • 3 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • ¼ teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup toasted pecans
  • 11 ½ cups rice cereal

Method

Grease a 9×13 pan, or line with parchment paper. Melt butter over medium-low heat in large pot. Add the brown sugar and maple syrup and stir until the brown sugar has dissolved. Add the marshmallows and stir until they have melted. Take off heat. Add the sea salt and vanilla and stir. Add rice cereal and toasted pecans to the melted marshmallow mixture and then press into prepared pan. Let cool completely before cutting.

RC-Treats-cover

Leave a Reply

