Garlic & Cheddar Pull Apart Bread

Garlic-title-pg

The other day I was cleaning up my Pinterest page, and ended up spending a good hour or so wandering around. Have you noticed that sometimes it gets a little theme-y? Like one week everyone discovers rhubarb, or sterling silver, or everything pink, and suddenly your feed is covered with variations of the same thing? Well that happened to me, but what I saw was pull-apart bread. (It’s basically in the same vain of money bread.) It was super cute and it made me realize just how uncreative I am. I would have never thought of slicing dough and putting it together that way. It looked simple enough.

I should have known better. Every single time I say “looks simple enough”, I get really cocky and then 80 million things go wrong during the “simple” process. I decided to use frozen bread dough instead of making my own. I always keep some in the fridge. I thought that one would be enough, but when I started rolling it out and putting it in the pan, I noticed that I still had a lot of room left over. I decided to build a little wall to fill in the space, so I grabbed a tin band aid box, wrapped in 3 layers of foil and put it in the pan. It was my McGuyver moment.

Garlic-pull-apart-bread-before-rising

The bread turned out ok. I wanted it to look prettier and be a little cheesier. I think I would try it again with cinnamon-sugar, but for garlic cheese, I’ll stick with my tried and true garlic cheese monkey bread.

garlic-pull-apart-cover

Garlic & Cheddar Pull Apart Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast (1 envelope)
  • 1/3 cup whole milk
  • 3 ounces unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup finely shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed or diced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Method

Stir together 2 cups of flour, sugar, yeast, and 1 teaspoon salt in the bowl of a mixer.

In a small saucepan, heat the milk, and 3 ounces of butter over low heat just until the butter is melted. Remove from the heat, add the water, and set aside until 120 – 130 F, about 1 – 2 minutes. Pour the milk mixture over the flour mixture and using a rubber spatula, mix until the dry ingredients are evenly moistened. Attach the bowl to the mixer, and fit with the dough attachment. With the mixer on low speed, mix for 3 minutes. Add one egg, at a time, mixing well after each addition just until incorporated. Stop the mixer, add 1/2 cup of the remaining flour, and resume mixing on low speed until the dough is smooth, 30 – 45 seconds. Add 3 more tablespoons of flour and mix on medium speed until the dough is smooth, soft and slightly sticky; about 2 minutes.

Sprinkle a work surface with 1 tablespoon flour and center the dough on the flour.

Knead gently until smooth and no longer sticky, about 1 – 2 minutes, adding an additional 1 – 2 tablespoons flour only if necessary to lessen the stickiness.

Lightly oil a large bowl, and place the dough in it. Cover the bowl securely with plastic wrap and let the dough rise in a warm place (70 degrees) until doubled in size, about 60 minutes. Gently press the dough, if your finger indentation remains, the dough is ready for the next step.

In a small saucepan add the 1/2 cup of butter and the diced garlic, over low heat. Stir until melted. Remove from the heat. Set aside. Center a rack in the oven and preheat to 350. Lightly butter a 9 by 5 by 3 inch loaf pan.

Gently deflate the dough. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough into a 20 by 12 inch rectangle. Using a pastry brush spread half of the melted butter generously over the dough. Cut the dough crosswise into 5 equal strips. I use a pastry cutter. Evenly distribute the cheese among the strips. Gently stack the strips on top of each other until you have a stack of 5 rectangles. Using a very sharp knife, slice the stack crosswise through the layers to create 6 equal strips, about 4 by 2 inches. Fit the layered strips into the loaf pan, cut edges up and side by side. There will be plenty of space on either side of the strips, that is fine because the space will fill up with rising and baking. Loosely cover the pan with plastic wrap and let the dough rise in a warm place (70 degrees) until puffy and almost doubled in size, about 30 – 40 minutes.

Place the loaf pan onto a cookie sheet. Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

Transfer to a wire rack and let cool in the pan for 10 minutes.

Remove from the pan onto a serving board, letting any drops of warm butter and garlic fall over the top.  Recipe via Chez Us

Leave a Reply

