Banana Coffeecake with Chocolate Chip Streusel

Banana-choc-overhead copy

I’ve been in the mood for banana bread ever since I made the banana cake with my own “quick ripe” bananas. You remember, the failed cake? This time I bought a couple of bananas and let them sit on my counter for about a week, so they would be nice and ripe.

I couldn’t find my tried and true recipe, so I started the hunt for its replacement. While perusing, I came across a banana coffeecake with chocolate chips. Hmmm, that sounded yummy. I haven’t made a coffee cake in forever (or maybe never?), so I decided to try it. Bananas, chocolate, streusel, nuts, sounds like a good combo. Well, for me, not so much.

Banana-Choc-Close-up

I thought I was going to love it, but I really didn’t like the cinnamon with the bananas. And I wished the coffee cake had a pinch more salt. Oh, and I wasn’t crazy about the chocolate chip middle. I would probably go for bakers chocolate, or chocolate that has more fat and will stay melty instead of chips.

And of course, for some reason, I can’t follow directions when it comes to baking pans. I decided to go with a round pan instead of a square one because I thought it would be cuter. It was, but I had more filling than batter and so there was a bit of a muffin top. Overall, this left me a tad unsatisfied, and wanting banana bread.

Banana-Choc-Slice

Banana Coffeecake with Chocolate Chip Streusel

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips (about 8 ounces)
  • 2/3 cup (packed) golden brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/3 cups mashed very ripe bananas (about 3 large)
  • 3 tablespoons buttermilk

Method

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour 8x8x2-inch metal baking pan. Stir chocolate chips, brown sugar, walnuts, and cinnamon in small bowl until well blended; set streusel aside. Sift all purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into medium bowl. Using electric mixer, beat sugar, room temperature butter, and egg in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in mashed bananas and buttermilk. Add dry ingredients and blend well.

Spread half of batter (about 2 cups) in prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with half of streusel. Repeat with remaining batter and streusel. Bake coffee cake until tester inserted into center comes out clean, about 45 minutes. Cool coffee cake in pan on rack.

Leave a Reply

