Blueberry Pie with Cornmeal Crust

BBerry-Corn-Pie-Cover

One of my favorite places for brunch when I lived in NYC was Grange Hall. It was in what used to be a speakeasy in the West Village. Besides their amazing Amish Potatoes (which was something I was never quite able to duplicate), they also made really good blueberry cornmeal pancakes. When I saw this recipe, it reminded me of the pancakes, so I decided to make it.

I was a little disappointed by having to use shortening (it’s been my goal to perfect crust without using it), but I got over it. It was easy and uneventful to put together, so that was no biggie. I did however, run into a couple of snags with the berries.

I didn’t read the recipe before I went to the store, so I only had 4 cups of blueberries instead of 5. This is something I realized after already measuring out the sugar and cornstarch, but before adding the berries, so I just scooped out a small amount of the mixture. I let the berries and sugar mixture sit for 30min as instructed, but there really wasn’t much juice coming out of the berries. I let it sit for another 10 minutes and nothing. Then I put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds at half power and still nothing. 10 minutes later we had a little juice happening, not a lot, but enough that I was ok with putting it in the oven. I tasted the juice to make sure it was sweet enough, but all I could taste was cornstarch, and the texture was very floury. I became very nervous and was convinced that the pie wouldn’t bake long enough to cook out the starch. So I rinsed off all the berries (they were still pretty firm) and started again. But this time, I used flour (something that I always do on my own. It’s usually a crap shoot whether or not I use enough so the filling isn’t runny). Instead of waiting another 30 minutes, I put it in the microwave for one minute added a dash of cinnamon, and put the pie in the oven.

One hour and fifteen minutes later I took the pie out and it looked pretty firm. Yay! Then I moved it from the counter to the table to take a couple of pictures and the juice started sloshing around (crap!). Now I’m sure I’ve ruined it. I grabbed a syringe, took out some of the juice, mixed it with a little flour, squeezed it back into the pie and put it in the oven (turned off) and let it sit until the oven was cool. I was hoping that as it cooled, it would jell a bit.

BBerry-Corn-Pit

The first slice let me know that it really didn’t (oh well). I took it to a friend’s house, who was making dinner and we watched the filling run with every slice. I should have followed the recipe. Luckily the pie was very tasty. I was hoping that the crust would have more of a corny flavor, but the texture was like a hearty grainy crust, in a good way. As with most of my recipes, I will have to make this one again.

Note:  Since I was taking this to a friend’s house, I decided to bake it in a metal disposable pan instead of a glass one.

BBerry-Corn-Pie-Slice

Blueberry Pie with Cornmeal Crust

Ingredients

Crust

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal (preferably stone-ground, medium grind)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup plus 6 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks total) chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1/4 cup non-hydrogenated solid vegetable shortening, frozen, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 4 tablespoons (or more) ice water

Filling

  • 5 cups fresh blueberries (about 27 ounces)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • Milk (for brushing)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon raw sugar

Method

Make the Crust:

Blend flour, cornmeal, sugar, and salt in processor. Add butter and shortening; using on/off turns, blend until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add 4 tablespoons ice water; blend just until moist clumps begin to form, adding more ice water by teaspoonfuls if dough is dry. Gather dough into ball. Divide dough in half; flatten each half into disk. Wrap disks separately in plastic and chill at least 1 hour. DO AHEAD Can be made 1 day ahead. Keep chilled. Soften dough 10 minutes at room temperature before rolling out.

Make the Filling:

Combine blueberries, sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice, and 1 tablespoon water in large bowl; toss to blend. Let stand at room temperature until juices begin to form, about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400ºF. Place rimmed baking sheet in bottom of oven. Roll out 1 dough disk between 2 sheets of generously floured parchment paper to 12-inch round. Peel off top parchment sheet; invert dough into 9-inch-diameter glass pie dish. Carefully peel off second parchment sheet. Gently press dough into pie dish, pressing any cracks together as needed to seal and leaving dough overhang. Spoon filling into pie crust.

Roll out second dough disk between 2 sheets of generously floured parchment paper to 12-inch round. Peel off top parchment sheet. Carefully and evenly invert dough atop filling. Peel off second parchment sheet. Trim overhang of both crusts to 1 inch. Fold overhang under and press to seal. Crimp edges decoratively. Cut five 2-inch-long slits in top crust of pie to allow steam to escape during baking. Lightly brush top crust (not edges) with milk. Sprinkle with raw sugar.

Bake pie 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 350ºF and continue baking until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbling thickly through slits, about 1 hour 15 minutes. Cool pie completely on rack. Cut into wedges and serve.

BBerry Corn Pie2

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

