Minecraft Birthday Cake

MC-Title

This year, my son requested a Minecraft cake for his birthday. I was ready for challenge and immediately began researching design ideas. I knew it would be very intricate (it’s a pixel-based game). The next day I showed him a few concepts I was thinking of, and he informs me that he wants the cake that players can create in the game. I asked him to show me what he was talking about, and he shows me a very simple cube, with a brown bottom, white top and a few little red squares. I said “no problem!” This was going to be easy, peasy. I was sooooooo mistaken.

Since I had six 9-inch round cake pans compared to one 8-inch and one 9-inch square pan, I decided to bake off the cake in the circle pans and carve a square from them.

MC-Cake-just-before-carving

The carving wasn’t really a problem, but I did shave off more than necessary because I was constantly trying to even out the angles.

Cube-before-fondant

And I also created a side project, since there was so much cake left over.

MC-Leftovers

The fondant also presented its’ own problems.

MC-whoopsie

Again, I was working with fondant on the hottest possible day in June. It started to breakdown as I picked it up and laid it on top of the cake. I decided not to worry about it, since the second layer of fondant would cover it (unfortunately though, not for this spot). I was being critiqued every ten minutes from my son, who wanted the edges to be “more straight” and not rounded. None of the sides were as smooth as I would have liked, and when I finished, both my son and I looked at it and said “well, it’s ok. Just, ok”. The next day I took it out of the fridge to take pictures, and with the magic of Hipstamatic and Instagram, the cake suddenly looked fabulous! In the end, we decided that we didn’t mind, because it was delicious.

MC-Overhead

