Margarita Cake

Margarita-Cake-Title

The margarita is one of my favorite cocktails, so when I came across this recipe, I was beyond excited. I’ve seen/made rum cakes before, but never thought about the margarita. To be honest, I didn’t think that tequila would be a good flavor for a cake, but I was willing to try it out. The only problem was that the recipe called for a box mix. (Box mixes were banned in my house when I was a teenager). I started to research recipes that I thought would be right for this cake, but was unsuccessful (read took too long and I gave up). The cake had to be dense, yet light and spongy all at the same time. A pound cake would be too heavy, a sponge cake too light, and a regular cake batter wouldn’t be sturdy enough. A box mix was the perfect answer, so I got over it and started baking.

The only item I changed in this recipe was the Triple Sec. I use Grand Marnier in my margaritas, so I used Grand Marnier in this recipe.

Margarita-Cake

Overall the cake wasn’t too bad.  I’m not sure if I liked the tequila flavor, but I definitely liked the lemon, lime and orange flavors.  Maybe I’ll make a citrus flavored cake next!

Margarita Cake

  • Servings: one 10 inch bundt cake
  • Print

Ingredients

Cake

  • 1 (18.25 ounce) package lemon cake mix
  • 1 (3.4 ounce) package instant vanilla pudding mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup lemon or lime juice (or a combo of both)
  • 1/4 cup tequila
  • 2 tablespoons Grand Marnier or triple sec liqueur

Glaze

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon tequila
  • 2 tablespoons Grand Marnier or triple sec liqueur
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • lime zest, for garnish

Method

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan (I prefer to use a little of the cake mix powder instead of flour).

In a large bowl combine cake mix, pudding mix, eggs, oil, water, lemon or lime juice 1/4 cup tequila and 2 tablespoons Grand Marnier. Beat for 2 minutes.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake in the preheated oven for 45 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool in pan for 10 minutes; remove to rack and pour glaze over cake while still warm. Garnish with lime zest.

To make the glaze: In a small bowl, combine confectioners’ sugar with 1 tablespoon tequila, 2 tablespoons triple sec and 2 tablespoons lime juice. Mix until smooth.

