Vanilla Whoopie Pie

Vanilla-Whoopie-Pie-Cover

Lately, I’ve seen recipes using rhubarb.  They all looked so pretty and springy, that I was getting the itch to bake with something colorful.   I found an awesome recipe for a rhubarb-ginger crumble and was getting excited. I popped into the market to get the ingredients, but I couldn’t find the rhubarb. I asked an employee, and he said that it wasn’t in season. I was confused and asked when they were in season. He says November. (Why would all the food magazines post rhubarb recipes in March/April, if rhubarb season is in November?) I leave disappointed and a little pissy. I decide to head to another store, 1) because I thought I saw them somewhere, and 2) because I just didn’t believe the guy. Store number two, had rhubarb! But it looked terrible. There were just a few stalks and most of them were wimpy. I picked out a couple that seemed salvageable and headed home even more disappointed. There definitely wasn’t enough to make what I wanted, but I still wanted to do something with it.

I decided to create a rhubarb filling for…..something. I first thought of donuts, but was too lazy to go through the trouble (it’s definitely on the backburner). What about a cookie?  Ok, but I really wanted a something like a cookie, but softer.  Vanilla. Whoopie. Pie. Got it.  After a bit of research, I found this a recipe, made a few adjustments and got to work. Since I was still short on rhubarb, I also made a lemon-ginger filling.

Both were pretty good although, I totally forgot that I didn’t have nearly the amount of powdered sugar I needed after already beating together the butter and marshmallow fluff (always measure first!), so my filling was tasty, but a little runny.

Unfortunately, I don’t have specific measurements for the rhubarb, since I had so little to begin with.

Vanilla Whoopie Pie

  • Servings: 8 large or 16 small pies
  • Print

 Ingredients

 Whoopie Pie:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 stick (1/2 c) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c packed light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 Filling:

  • 1 stick (1/2 c) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups confectioners sugar
  • 2 c marshmallow cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla

 Method

 For Whoopie Pies:

Preheat oven to 375° F.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk together flour, baking powder and salt together in a medium bowl.

In the bowl of a mixer with the paddle, beat the butter, and both sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add the eggs and buttermilk and beat until combined. The batter will look a little curdled, but don’t worry.

Combine milk, baking soda, and vinegar in a small bowl.  With the mixer on low, add the milk mixture to the batter along with the flour mixture.  Beat just until combined. Add the vanilla and beat on medium for 2 minutes, until completely combined.

Drop heaping tablespoons dough onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches of space between cookies.  (I dipped my fingers in water and smoothed out the tops of the dough and pressed them down a little)

Bake the cookies, one sheet at a time, for about 10 minutes, or until they are set and just beginning to brown. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

For Filling:

Beat together butter, confectioners sugar, marshmallow, and vanilla in a bowl with electric mixer at medium speed until smooth, about 3 minutes.

Filling Add-in’s

Rhubarb

Slice rhubarb into ¼ inches pieces (ended up with about 1 stalk) and combine with approximately 1/8th cup of sugar and a few tablespoons of water in a small saucepan. With the heat on low, simmer until the sugar has melted and the rhubarb softens. Let cool completely and stir into filling.

Lemon-Ginger

Grate approx. ¼ teaspoon of fresh ginger (or ground if you don’t have fresh) and combine with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Stir into the filling and adjust to taste.  

