Bacon & Cheddar Breakfast Bread

B-Bread-Label

I cannot take claim for the invention of what my son calls “the best thing ever”, but he is the creator of its title. While spending the weekend with a close girlfriend, she made this for the kids for breakfast. Hers had sausage and cheese, and was made more like a long calzone. It was delicious. A few months later I decided to try it myself at home, but with bacon instead of sausage and I made it “jelly roll” style, only because it was less messy. My son loved it and decided to call it “breakfast bread”. This loaf of cheesy, bacon(y) goodness only lasts for one day in our house. We almost never leave enough for breakfast the next day

If you’re an early riser like we are, you can have this on the table by 10-10:30 am. Also, the possibilities are endless. If you really think about it, this really is an overgrown calzone. I’ve always been tempted to try it with other ingredients, but we’re so in love with the bacon/cheddar combo, that we haven’t tried anything else (ok, I may try sage sausage this weekend). We also don’t eat this very often. Maybe once a month.

A note about the breakfast bread: You can add as much or as little of the ingredients as you like. What I’m listing below is what we like. Enjoy!

Bacon & Cheddar Breakfast Bread

Ingredients

  • 1 loaf frozen bread dough (or you can use my Monkey Bread dough recipe and omit some of the sugar)
  • 1lb bacon (for the kind of bacon I buy, I only get about 9 slices)
  • 1 bag of sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1-2T water

Place the frozen dough in the fridge the night before to thaw.  In the morning, take the dough out of the fridge and let it come to room temperature.  (You can work with it cold, but it will be much more difficult to work with.)

Dough

While you’re waiting for the dough, cook the bacon until crisp and chop into small pieces.

Roll the dough out onto a lightly floured surface into a rectangle that’s about 12 inches long and 9 inches wide.  Sprinkle about half of the cheese onto the dough, leaving a 1 inch border around the edge.  Sprinkle the bacon on top of the cheese and then add one more layer of cheese.  Press the cheese and bacon layers firmly into the dough.  (I think this helps if when it’s time to roll the dough, although I’m sure it’s all in my head).

B-Bread-Before-Rolling

Gently begin to fold and roll the dough.  Pinch the dough together to seal along the length of the loaf and also at the end.

Dough-Pinched

Place the loaf on a parchment lines sheet pan, cover lightly, and let rise in a warm place until double in size.

Dough-Rising

Preheat oven to 350ºF and combine the egg and water.

When the loaf has doubled in size, brush it lightly with the egg wash and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until the bread is a deep golden brown.  Let the bread cool for a least 10 minutes before cutting.

B-Bread-out-of-the-oven

 

