Funfetti Cake

Funfetti-Cover

I’ve finally realized and accepted that I’m not a very creative person when it comes to baking. I’ll never come up with a clever flavor combo, or super cool design for a cake. This fact has been proven after seeing many very creative posts on other blogs and pinterest (I love and hate pinterest). Never in a million years, would it have occurred to me to put sprinkles in a cake. I thought it was super cute, so I had to try it for myself.  Seemed harmless enough.

Funfetti-Cake-Slice

My original concept for this cake was to only have the nonpareil on the top of the cake and maybe a one-inch border on the side. I hadn’t figured out how to make this happen, but I wasn’t worried….yet. Turns out that I was much lower on powdered sugar than I thought  (I was too lazy to run to the store), so my frosting never really got thick enough and I didn’t like the way it looked. I decided to cover the entire cake with nonpareil, to cover my mistakes.   I also didn’t have a pan deep enough to put the can in to cover with the nonpareil, so I had tiny bits of colored sugar everywhere!

Funfetti-Cake

The cake recipe I’m posting is the same one I used for the ombre cake. Seems that it really is a white cake recipe. I think I might work on turning it in to a yellow cake recipe as well (stay tuned).  A couple of notes about this recipe since it’s the 2nd time I’ve used it. 1: The type of buttermilk used really makes a difference. I usually use a full fat buttermilk (I don’t really believe in low-fat deserts) but I could only find non-fat buttermilk at the store, so I tried it. It was the equivalent of using skim milk or water. It took away richness and moistness (somehow) from the cake. 2: Stay focused.  I got distracted texting a friend and over beat my batter, so the cake came out a little tough and spongy (but not in a good way). Oh, and I also made my cake using 6-inch cake pans instead of 8 inch.  I used the rest of the batter for cupcakes.

Funfetti-Cupcakes

Funfetti Cake

 Ingredients

  •  ½ cup unsalted butter (1 stick)
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 ½ cups buttermilk
  • 1 ½ tsp pure vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp almond extract
  • 4 egg whites, beaten until they hold stiff peaks (set aside while you make the batter)
  • ½ cup sprinkles
  • 3 8-inch round cake pans, parchment paper cut into 8-inch rounds (I made a 6″ cake and made cupcakes with the rest of the batter)

 Method

Preheat oven to 350° F. Prepare round cake pans by spraying with non-stick spray or greasing the pans; then place parchment round in the bottom of the pan and spray or grease that as well.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar together until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Meanwhile, whisk together flour, salt and baking powder in a large bowl. To make the cake batter, add the flour mixture and the buttermilk to the creamed butter, alternating between wet and dry ingredients and beating after each addition After everything is well mixed, add the vanilla and almond extracts, mix again to incorporate, and then fold in the beaten egg whites until the batter is smooth. Fold in the sprinkles. Try to be very gentle, if you over mix, color from the sprinkles will begin to bleed. Divide evenly between the prepared pans, smooth the top of the batter, and bake for approximately 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool the cakes completely on cooling racks, then remove from the baking pans and discard the parchment.

Vanilla Frosting

Ingredients

  •  1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 6 to 8 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • ½ cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • Dash of salt

Method

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine butter, 4 cups sugar, milk, vanilla and salt. Beat on medium speed until smooth and creamy, 3 to 5 minutes. Gradually add remaining sugar, 1 cup at a time, beating for about 2 minutes after each addition, until icing reaches desired consistency; you may not need to add all the sugar. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days.

Note: I tend to add both the milk and sugar gradually until I reach my desired consistency.  

 

Leave a Reply

