Grilled Cheese & Bacon

My son and I were trying to think of what to have for lunch.  I knew we had to go to Whole Foods to get our new favorite bacon and we had rye bread at home, so I suggested a grilled cheese and bacon.  I wanted something sharp like cheddar, but knew that cheddar wouldn’t melt well, so I said that we should go talk to the cheese guy at the store.  I chat up the cheese guy and tell him what I’m looking for and he suggested Gruyère.  I was hoping for something more exciting, but I knew it was a solid choice.  I told him that my son (from here on out called “the boy”) isn’t really a fan of Gruyère and the boy begins to chat up the cheese guy about his love/hate with the cheese.  The cheese guy says to the boy “I’ll give you a slice to try, and you see how you like it”.  The boy makes a comment to me about how people love kids and heads to the counter to get his free slice of cheese.  They guy hands us a wedge of cheese and says “let me add the sticker”.  We walked out with this:

wf-cheese

There was literally a “zoinks!” moment and we giggled our way to the register as if we just won a prize.  Here is our result:

grilled-cheese

I don’t think I need to post a recipe for a grilled cheese sandwich, but I will tell you what I used.

Ingredients

  • Rye bread
  • Wellshire Dry Rubbed Black Forest Bacon (the best bacon ever!)
  • Gruyère

One comment

Leave a Reply

